Tips on Blogging

I have been blogging only for a few months now, and I have a small but a loyal following, most notably from USA, Canada, Japan, and the Netherlands. I wanted to share a series of quick thoughts about blogging.

***

Consistency

Content

Tone

Vision

Consistency

At some point I decided that I will write a blog every week. In the beginning, I wanted to write one everyday. I had so much to say, but somehow these days it is a lot harder for me to write. I feel more pressure to deliver an amazing blog post now that I for sure have an audience. It is not easy to try and update a post every Monday, but it creates a (small) routine in my super scattered freelance life and I like it.

Content

My contents have varied. However, I try to stick with what I know and what I am passionate about.

Tone

In real life, I can be quiet, I can be very out-going, I can be very cynical, sarcastic, spacey, and so on. In the beginning, I thought it would be cool to be as real as I can be in my writing and try to let some of these traits seep into my writing. But as I have written before, writing is writing, and it is not the same as other forms of communication. I shared my early posts with my closest friends and they ripped me apart to shreds. And I am very grateful. In writing, it is the best of your interest to get to the point. If people wanted to read a book, they would have read a book. If people wanted to enjoy a nice rant, they would probably have watched one of their subscribed channels on YouTube. Knowing what my blog is to people has helped me shape at times what I will write about.

Vision

I originally decided to start writing here because I really wanted to get better at writing and  also to gain some kind of professional leverage. Obviously I was very ambitious. Like many people in the arts I think I suffer from a (mild) case of the snowflake millennial syndrome. To even think that my writing is of anyone’s interest in this crowded planet is very presumptuous to say the least. In any event, I have really enjoyed writing every post so far. It hasn’t always been easy, but I am proud that I have written over 20 posts now.

Final Thoughts

If you have topics on your mind that you wish I would discuss, please comment below or message me. Thank you so much reading.

Pony

Leave a Reply

